Posted by: chobhi | June 26, 2009

What helps or maybe hinders me to write better lately

I have been reading some old classics lately. I picked up ” Gulliver’s Travels” that I had discarded as a teenager, thinking it too childish. What was all that talk about tiny people and giants? I read it again recently and found it fascinating, a true satire of our governments and our way of life as humans.  It also has made me think seriously about points of view and the true meaning of diversity. Jonathan Swift was not a prolific writer, but he really did not have to write more after this one.  Go back to it if you have not done so.

Another book that I am reading is George Eliot’s”MiddleMarch”. She is an amazing writer who draws characters with a fine  pen. I am looking back at the novel that I recently finished and am in awe of her detailed description of human natures so different and yet so interesting and real. Now I am not happy with my characters in my novel; I need to edit my work , she inspires me! And let no one say that there were not magnificent women writers in the nineteenth century!

Responses

  1. With the current fad of plot-driven stories, character often gets the short end. This situation arose from the Film Industry’s assumption that the only people who spend money on movies with regularity are the 18 to 25-year-old males who are addicted to videogames. The presumption embraces the thought (whose thought is unclear) that that demographic doesn’t care about character unless some are blown away with dramatic volcations of blood and flame.

    In the same vein of revisiting old classics, you might enjoy Cary Grant and Jeanne Crain in “People Will Talk.”

    Writer/Director Joselph L. Mankiewicz’s film (based on Curt Goetz’s play), takes a scathingly, alternately humorous and touching look at the McCarthy hearings through a medical metaphor surrounding what might be called the first Wholistic Physician. That era of filmmaking was definitely character-driven, but without losing elements of plot, structure, & voice — still leaving room for, if you’ll pardon the expression, a sly moral.

  2. When I dispair of ever being able to equal an expansive work like Middlemarch, I remember it was her seventh novel!

    Write on!


Leave a Reply

Categories

